A. You will need the following things:
1. Title or current out-of-state registration if title is held by a lienholder.
2. Level 1 inspection. (We do them here at our office)
3. Smog test if the vehicle is over 4 years old.
A. As an Arizona resident you must pay 5.6% state sales tax and any local sales tax. We are responsible for collecting the state and local taxes. A bill of sale will be required from the selling dealer to verify that sales tax was collected or how much needs to be collected.
A. When ownership of the vehicle is in more than one name, the "Or, And, And/Or" box on the title application determines which signatures will be required to sell the vehicle or for other actions.
"OR" Legal Status
This ownership is a joint tenancy, with an expressed intent that either of the owners has full authority to transfer ownership of the vehicle, license plates and/or fees, or to record loan information. The owners' names will appear on the title as in this example: JOHN DOE OR JOE ROSS.
To transfer ownership of the vehicle, license plates and/or fees, or to record loan information, the signature of either party will be accepted. Both signatures are not required. If this legal status is chosen, all owners involved must sign in the Legal Status section.
"AND" Legal Status
This ownership is a tenancy in common. The owners' names will appear on the title as in this example: JOHN DOE AND JOE ROSS.
To transfer ownership of the vehicle, license plates and/or fees, or to record loan information, the signatures of both parties will be required. In the event of the death of either party, the interest of the deceased party must be handled by probate action, or by completing a Non-probate Affidavit.
"AND/OR" Legal Status
This ownership is a joint tenancy with right of survivorship. The owners' names will appear on the title as in this example: JOHN DOE AND/OR JOE ROSS.
To transfer ownership of the vehicle, license plates and/or fees, or to record loan information, the signatures of both parties will be required, if both are living. Upon proof of death, the survivor may sign alone.
A. A Motor Vehicle Record (MVR) is the computer printout of a driving or vehicle record. The manner in which driver license or motor vehicle record information may be released is regulated by the Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act (or DPPA), 18 USC 2721-2725 and Title 28, Chapter 2, Article 5 of the Arizona Revised Statutes.
The DPPA requires you to have a "permissible use" for requesting and receiving an MVD record which contains personal identifying information (e.g., a person's driver license photograph/image, social security number, driver license number, name, address and medical/disability information). The Motor Vehicle Record Request form lists those permissible uses.
If eligible, you can obtain and print a copy of a record online. You may also obtain a copy by completing a Motor Vehicle Record Request form and submitting $3 for an uncertified record (three-year for driving record) or $5 for a certified record (five-year for driving record) by mail or at any MVD or authorized third-party office. Your signature on the form must be notarized, or witnessed by an MVD agent.
A. Yes. It is not required that you have the renewal notice. Your current (or expired) registration document can be used.
A. This may be completed at an MVD or Authorized Third Party office. One form of identification is required, and you must have the license plate and/or vehicle identification number. A $5 fee will be charged (plus postage and handling if applicable). To transact by mail, send the plate application, with a check or money order for $5, plus postage and handling listed on the form, and the replacement will be sent by mail.
A. You can see how much you paid in vehicle registration fees for last year, including your vehicle license tax, by using the Vehicle Fee Recap online service. You can view your record and print it. This is a free service. Note: This recap is provided for information only. If you are using it for tax purposes, consult your tax adviser.
A. When an Arizona title is lost, mutilated or becomes illegible, you, the owner of record, may apply for a duplicate title. Owner name, legal status, lienholder and vehicle information must remain the same. Only the address and/or vehicle location address may be changed.
You must complete a Title and Registration Application, check the appropriate box at the top of the form. Only one owner's signature is required, regardless of the number of owners or legal status.
You may submit the application at any authorized third-party office or by mail to MD 555M, Motor Vehicle Division, P.O. Box 2100, Phoenix AZ 85001.
The fee is $4. Photo identification may be required for walk-in customers.
The mutilated or illegible title must be surrendered at the time of application, when available; it is not necessary for the owner to sign-off the back of the title.
When the record shows a lien, the duplicate title will be sent to the lienholder of record, unless you present a lien clearance or power of attorney from the first lienholder of record and there are no other liens present on the vehicle record.